Introduce Yourself

Official news and updates
mikej
B9 Moderator
B9 Moderator

Introduce Yourself

Post#1 » Tue Aug 14, 2012 3:59 pm

Tell us a bit about yourself and your plans for the B9Creator.
Measure Twice, Cut Once.

dansokol
B9 Maker
B9 Maker

Introduce Yourself

Post#2 » Wed Aug 15, 2012 5:08 am

Mad Science! Prototyping, experiments, playing with polymers, etc.

Looking to see what can be done.

darthviper107
B9 Maker
B9 Maker

Introduce Yourself

Post#3 » Wed Aug 15, 2012 5:50 am

I'm a 3D artist, I hope someday to make model kits but for the time being I'm working on my own projects. Mostly it'll be used for making parts that will then be cast, but I like the idea of being able to print new parts to augment existing model kits and make them better or more accurate.

With this thing I think it's possible to get amazing quality for a low cost. Comparing to printing options today it looks like the Projet 3500 has the highest quality at 1600z 750x/y resolution, the B9 has been tested at 1016z 507x/y and is potentially capable of going to 2500z 1000x/y which would beat the stats of the Projet machine. I'm hoping at those stats it would result in much better quality than the Projet--the ideal situation would result in quality close to an injection-molded piece so you can get extremely fine detail.

Already we can probably get to 2500z by using a different resin, the 1000x/y could be reached by either adjusting the current projector to be closer or by modifying the printer to use a 1080p projector. Both are possible so I hope that people will be experimenting with those methods once they get their hands on the printer kits.

Anachron Games
Lurker
Lurker

Introduce Yourself

Post#4 » Wed Aug 15, 2012 8:48 am