Complete fabrication from scratch

B9Creator - Ideas and Discussions
hermesaur

Post#1 » Mon Sep 22, 2014 4:43 am

Has anyone ever taken all of the reference resources (engineering, circuit schematics, BOMs, etc.) and completely made and assembled a B9 from scratch with their own fabricated parts?

The reason I ask is that I am an adjunct professor at a college in Texas and I am going to propose a multi-department project between or CAD, CNC and robotics departments to make a B9. Unfortunately I cannot order a kit without the fabricated metal so I will have to have the students make everything. I am sure they are capable (or they better be since this will be for a grade) but I wondered if there is anything I should be aware of if we are making all of these parts on our own (i.e. if anyone has tried this and ran into any problems).

We have a CAD department that can reverse engineer the sheet metal in SolidWorks to create flats. We have a CNC lab that can fab the sheet metal and other pieces. We have an electronics/robotics department that can build the boards and assemble everything.

Any info would be appreciated- even just general suggestions Thanks!

Robert Howle
B9 Creator
B9 Creator

Post#2 » Mon Sep 22, 2014 6:18 am

Read this entire thread. He has finished machine now. pretty sure.

http://www.b9c.com/support/?mingleforumaction=viewtopic&t=1494

Robert
Dance like nobody's watching!

hermesaur

Post#3 » Mon Sep 22, 2014 7:03 am

That's pretty interesting. I hadn't really considered trying to redesign any of the exterior parts but I suppose it would be possible. The CAD students could design their own case parts around the mechanics. I noticed that guy changed the lead screw from a UN 1/4-20 to an Acme 3/8-12 which I probably won't do. Still that is a pretty helpful thread. Thanks.

I know that part of the open source agreement is to share all design files of mods/redesigns. Any idea where I could find these files?

Robert Howle
B9 Creator
B9 Creator