problem all of a sudden table moves up just before exposure

Software issues and solutions
User avatar
akgold
B9 Wizard
B9 Wizard
Posts: 2094

problem all of a sudden table moves up just before exposure

Post#1 » Mon Sep 22, 2014 9:02 am

I noticed this yesterday when I started a print.
I have been using 1.70 beta software since it was first put out. I haven't upgraded because you don't fix what's not broke.
that being said I am using the 1.1 printer.
I took a video of the arm during a dry run to show what is happening and it's result in failed prints.
When the vat moves from the left to the right the table moves down over the PDMS to position for the next exposure
at that time the arm then moves up slightly and the exposure is opened then the vat moves back to the closed position
as a result each layer is swept away by the wiper and is not adhering to the table.

Now this just started for no apparent reason as I had just printed a small cross flat no supports just two days prior.

any ideas on how to stop the table arm from raising up once it is in the open position or why it is doing this?

Image
I'm so far behind I think I'm First !!

User avatar
akgold
B9 Wizard
B9 Wizard
Posts: 2094

problem all of a sudden table moves up just before exposure

Post#2 » Mon Sep 22, 2014 9:02 am

video didn't load
mmmmmmm???
I'm so far behind I think I'm First !!

User avatar
behold3d
B9 Master
B9 Master
Posts: 535
Contact:

problem all of a sudden table moves up just before exposure

Post#3 » Mon Sep 22, 2014 9:21 am

well, my friend. I would say that it is broke and now you must fix it.

It's probably best to upgrade to the new 1.7.3

It will be a safe bet that your issues will be rectified

User avatar
akgold
B9 Wizard
B9 Wizard
Posts: 2094

problem all of a sudden table moves up just before exposure

Post#4 » Mon Sep 22, 2014 10:02 am

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sESXpixYJxI&feature=youtu.be
I'm so far behind I think I'm First !!

User avatar
akgold
B9 Wizard
B9 Wizard
Posts: 2094

problem all of a sudden table moves up just before exposure

Post#5 » Mon Sep 22, 2014 10:05 am

Actually this is a problem that arose before in the software ver.6 and there is an answer to it.
I just can't remember what it is. what setting causes this?
I have set it at default settings and it still does it. upgrading is not the answer.

addendum
just did the upgrade to 1.7.1 and it made no difference.
This is the cause of failed printing there must be a setting that even the new software is repeating now as it is using the same settings it does it using default settings or modified to what was being used as successful print settings

People look at your table during the print is it doing this?
This was a video I posted when I had the problem before.
June 5th 2014
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=y-6Rl07ffQE
I'm so far behind I think I'm First !!

User avatar
mikej
B9 Moderator
B9 Moderator
Posts: 4190
Contact:

problem all of a sudden table moves up just before exposure

Post#6 » Mon Sep 22, 2014 11:37 am

This is backlash compensation (only on v1.1 machines) and is normal. If you don't want it, set it to zero in Settings.

Also, PLEASE make sure you're using v1.7.3 The changes are important!
Measure Twice, Cut Once.

User avatar
akgold
B9 Wizard
B9 Wizard
Posts: 2094

problem all of a sudden table moves up just before exposure

Post#7 » Mon Sep 22, 2014 2:21 pm

ok ok
I will change to 1.7.3. but I have had such good prints using the original 1,7.1 beta

Looking for the Backlash compensation.
I'm so far behind I think I'm First !!

User avatar
mikej
B9 Moderator
B9 Moderator
Posts: 4190
Contact:

problem all of a sudden table moves up just before exposure

Post#8 » Mon Sep 22, 2014 4:02 pm

v1.7.0 beta also had this table movement, so it's more likely a table calibration issue or something else going on.
Measure Twice, Cut Once.

User avatar
akgold
B9 Wizard
B9 Wizard
Posts: 2094

problem all of a sudden table moves up just before exposure

Post#9 » Mon Sep 22, 2014 6:04 pm

Problems seems to be solved thanks Mike.
I should have stuck to procedures like recalibrating table, check focus on pdms, and update the software.
guess the table just got outta whack with the vat.
at any rate after checking during a pause the base layers are there on the table so guess i will see in 5 hours if the print will continue to build.
Thanks again for your help. I should know better by now to do what I suggest to others.
I'm so far behind I think I'm First !!

Return to “Troubleshooting”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

Close Menu Shop Forum